The Wanderer

The Wagon Magazine is a literary journal, published out of Chennai in India, dedicated to seeking out new and lesser known literary talent from the subcontinent and around the world.

Since last month, the magazine has been publishing a monthly column by yours truly, titled The Wanderer. Each column, I look at five or six extracts from poems on a particular theme, or featuring a particular motif or idea. I wanted to do something different from the articles here on Sweettenorbull, where generally I will focus on a single poem, and, in keeping with the magazine’s remit, I will be featuring some lesser known poets alongside bigger names. My first column is on the theme of wanderers, and looks at some poems and songs from Ivor Gurney, some 10th century Anglo-Saxons, Wordsworth, a nameless cowboy, and the Korean poet Park Mog Wol.

The Wagon Magazine is a print publication, available by mail order. It’s always an intriguing read – please give it your consideration.

It archives old articles online. You can read my first effort here.

The editorial is here.

My fellow blogger and poet John Looker’s article is here.

And here is an example of some of the gems the magazine is capable of uncovering, a lovely selection of translated poems by the Kannada language poet, S. Manjunath, translated and with an introduction by Kamalakar Bhat.

 

 

2 Comments

Filed under Literature, Poetry

2 responses to “The Wanderer

  1. I was really pleased to see the The Wagon magazine has recruited you Andy and as you already know I enjoyed reading your first column. Looking forward to more!

    • Thanks, John. I’ve enjoyed your articles too – I’m always a little envious of your cultural exploits in the capital, as, living abroad and having two small children, I rarely have the opportunity for such things at the moment. I’m enjoying writing these articles too, though, and am glad for your recommendation!

Leave a Reply

